Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

The following Friars were recognized for their contribution to society. The distinction was awarded on the listed date.

Amb. Lloyd Hand, Fall 2015
Senior Counsel, King and Spalding, former U.S. Ambassador

Robert Schenkkan, Spring 2014
Award-winning playwright, producer, and actor

Dr. Clift Price, Spring 2013

John Adkins, Spring 2012
Partner, Strasburger & Price, LLP

Steve Susman, Fall 2011
Managing Partner, Susman & Godfrey, LLP

Roy Spence, Fall 2010
Chairman and CEO, GSD&M Idea City

Joe Krier, Spring 2010
Principal, Krier Consulting Group, Inc.

Mary Walsh, Fall 2009
CBS News, Producer

Shannon H. Ratliff, Fall 2008
Ratliff Law Firm, P.LLC, Owner and President

Rick Archer, Fall 2007
Overland Partners Architects, Founding Principal

Dr. Ricardo Romo, Fall 2006
University of Texas – San Antonio, President

Diane Wood, Fall 2005
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, Justice

Edwin Dorn, Fall 2004
Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, Former Dean

Terry Tottenham, Fall 2003
Fulbright & Jaworski LLP, Partner-In-Charge

Jan Patterson, Fall 2002
Texas 3rd Court of Appeals, Justice

Lloyd Doggett, Fall 2001
United States Congressman

Ronald G. Steinhart, Fall 2000
Bank One Commercial Banking Group, Former Chairman and CEO

Paul Begala, Fall 1999
Co-Host of CNNs The Situation Room

Joe Bill Watkins, Fall 1998
Vinson & Elkins LLP, Partner

Harley R. Clark, Spring 1998*
Head Yell Leader who Introduced Hook Em Horns Sign

Barefoot Sanders, Fall 1997*
United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas, Judge

Dolph Briscoe, Jr., Spring 1997*
Former Texas Governor

Earl Campbell, Fall 1996
Heisman Trophy Winner and NFL Player

Joe Greenhill, Spring 1996*
Supreme Court of Texas, Former Chief Justice

Cyndi Krier, Fall 1995
University of Texas Board of Regents, Vice-Chairman

Wales Madden, Spring 1995
Texas Water Development Board, Chairman

Jack Brooks, Fall 1994*
Former United States Congressman

John L. Hill Jr., Spring 1994*
Supreme Court of Texas, Former Chief Justice

Charles E. Seay, Fall 1993*
Philanthropist and Investor

Cathy Mincberg, Spring 1993
Houston Independent School District, Former Chief Business Officer

Lowell Lebermann, Fall 1992*
Centex Beverage, Chairman and CEO

J.J. Jake Pickle, Spring 1992*
Former United States Congressman

Ray Farabee, Fall 1991
Former Texas State Senator

Bill Murray, Spring 1991*
Former Texas Railroad Commissioner